Demonstration Video Preference

How do I get to this page?

There are two ways to get to this preference—use whichever method you prefer.

Method 1:

  1. Log in to Renaissance.
  2. On the Home page, select your name in the upper-right corner. In the drop-down list, select Edit Preferences.

  3. On the Preferences page, select Demo Video in the Class Preferences section of the page.

Method 2:

  1. Log in to Renaissance.
  2. On the Home page, select Star Early Literacy or Star Spanish. In the drop-down list, select Preferences.

  3. On the Preferences page, select Demo Video in the Class Preferences section of the page.

Who can do this with default user permissions?

  • District Level Administrators: any class or group in any school in the district
  • School Level Administrators: any class or group in their school
  • Teachers: any of their own classes or groups

This preference allows you to determine if students will view the demonstration video at the beginning of a Star Early Literacy or Star Early Literacy Spanish test.


  1. After you select Demo Video on the Preferences page, use the Schools and Classes drop-down lists to choose which classes to set the preference for.

    The Schools and Classes drop-down lists.

    • You can only select one school at a time; only the school(s) available to you will be shown in the list. (If you only have access to one school, you will not need to select it.)
    • All of the classes and groups you have access to will be shown in the Classes list. You can check them one at a time, or you can choose Select All at the bottom to check/uncheck all of the classes or groups at once. (If you only have access to one class or group, you will not need to select it.)
  2. For each class or group, select how often you want students in that class or group to see the demo video .

    • Available until first test is completed: Students will see the video the first time they take a test. Once a student has seen the video and finished a test, that student will not have the video shown to them again.
    • Always off: Students will not see the demonstration video.
    • The setting for the preference in three classes is shown in a table. The Save Changes, Set All, and Undo Changes buttons are above the table.

      To set the same preference for all the classes or groups shown at the same time, select Set All... , select Available until first test is completed or Always off , and then select Apply to All .

      The Set All button has been selected; the setting for all classes is in a pop-up window. The Apply to All and Cancel buttons are at the bottom.

  3. When you have finished making your changes, select Save Changes to save them (you will see a confirmation message once your changes have been saved). You can also select Undo Changes to undo your changes to the preference setting.

  4. Select Back at the top of the page to return to the Preferences page when you are done.