Enterprise Tests Preference - School Level

How do I get to this page?

There are two ways to get to this preference—use whichever method you prefer.

Method 1:

  1. Log in to Renaissance.
  2. On the Home page, select your name in the upper-right corner. In the drop-down list, select Edit Preferences.

  3. On the Preferences page, select Enterprise Tests in the School Preferences section of the page.

Method 2:

  1. Log in to Renaissance.
  2. On the Home page, select Star Reading or Star Math. In the drop-down list, select Preferences.

  3. On the Preferences page, select Enterprise Tests in the School Preferences section of the page.

Who can do this with default user permissions?

District Level Administrators, School Level Administrators

The Enterprise Tests Preference determines if students can only take Enterprise tests (which is the default setting) or if they can take either an Enterprise or a non-Enterprise test. This preference is applied to both Star Math and Star Reading.

  • The school-level setting of this preference applies to all classes and groups in a school.
  • The class- or group-level setting of this preference applies to individual classes and groups in a single school.

The shorter version of the test is called "non-Enterprise" or "Progress Monitoring" in the software; the full-length version is called "Enterprise." You do have the option of using the non-Enterprise version of Star Math or Star Reading, but we recommend that you use Enterprise assessments for all testing events, if possible. The Enterprise test provides more precise data that can be used for more purposes. For example, only by administering the Enterprise test can you see data on specific skills or estimate mastery of state standards. Using this test type also makes it easier to compare results over time.

One reason you might choose to administer the shorter (non-Enterprise) version of the test is the available time for testing. If you are frequently testing students who are in intervention and you are concerned about testing time, setting the preference to Enterprise and non-Enterprise tests will let you administer the non-Enterprise version of the test in the chosen schools or classes outside of the screening dates. (Keep in mind that the software will only administer the shorter test to students for whom a growth goal has been set.)

For more information, consult the Renaissance Star 360™ Implementation Guide.


Preference Setting Interactions

The test that will be administered depends on the school-level setting of this preference, the class- or group-level setting of this preference, and the screening dates.

  • If the preference is set to Enterprise tests only at the school level, then the Enterprise test will always be given regardless of the screening dates, and the preference cannot be set at the class level.
  • If the preference is set to Enterprise and non-Enterprise tests at the school level, the class- or group-level setting of the preference determines which test is given:

    • If the preference is set to Enterprise tests only at the class or group level, the Enterprise test will always be given regardless of the screening dates.
    • If the preference is set to Enterprise and non-Enterprise tests at the class or group level, the Enterprise test will be given within the screening dates and the non-Enterprise test will be given outside the screening dates (to students who have a goal set).

  1. After you select Enterprise Tests on the Preferences page, you will see each school in your district and the current setting of the preference at each school. Select either Enterprise tests only or Enterprise and non-Enterprise tests .

    To set the same preference for all the schools shown at the same time, select Set All... , select Enterprise tests only or Enterprise and non-Enterprise tests , and then select Apply to All .

  2. When you have finished making your changes, select Save Changes to save them (you will see a confirmation message once your changes have been saved). You can also select Undo Changes to undo your changes to the preference setting.

  3. Select Back at the top of the page to return to the Preferences page when you are done.